Module Examinations

To further the knowledge of Beekeepers, the BBKA have a series of examinations that test the beekeeper in various areas concerning the management of their hives, the products that the hive produces, the pests and diseases that they can suffer etc. There a total of 7 modules for the beekeeper to take, upon the completion of the first 4, they receive the “Intermediate Theory Certificate” and on completion of all 7 then they receive their “Advanced Theory Certificate”.

The modules, click the links for the syllibus of each exam.

  1. Module 1 – Honey bee Management
  2. Module 2 – Honey bee Products and Forage
  3. Module 3 – Honey bee Pests, Diseases and Poisoning
  4. Module 5 – Honey bee Biology
  5. Module 6 – Honey bee Behaviour
  6. Module 7 – Selection & Breeding of Honey bees
  7. Module 8 – Honey bee Management, Health and History

The rules

  • The Area Exam Secretary will contact you with details of the Examination
  • For the Examination application form, please click here
  • Module 8 must be the last module to be taken, otherwise they can be tackled in any order.
  • After passing modules 1, 2, 3 and one other from 5, 6 and 7 you are awarded the Intermediate Theory Certificate and after passing all modules you are awarded the Advanced Theory Certificate.
  • The entry requirements to sit the modules are the possession of a Basic Certificate and at least 2 years beekeeping experience.
  • To apply for the assessment, complete the Application Form and send it with the Fee to your Area Examination Secretary or if an individual member, direct to the National Beekeeping Centre at Stoneleigh.

Results from March examinations are normally available by 3rd week May. Results from November examinations are normally available by 3rd week January.